15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Payworks Reviews

4.2 (19) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Payworks

A workforce management solution based in Canada that handles payroll, HR, time management and reporting for businesses of all sizes.

Learn more about Payworks

Pros:

Easy and efficient software. No fluff, just straightforward and simple.

Cons:

Some of the reports i was used to in our old payroll software i have not figured out yet, such as pay rate history.

Payworks ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.4
Features
3.9
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

Payworks has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 19 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Payworks before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (19)

Kimberley
Accounting/HR in Canada
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for a growing company

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer service has been excellent from the onboarding of all of our data to the ongoing support.

Pros:

Onboarding features i am still getting to know the full impact but this has definitely streamlined our operations. Also the absence management feature is wonderful, as previously i was tracking all in a calendar and transcribing to a spreadsheet. as our company grew this was just taking way too much of my time.

Cons:

Some of the reports i was used to in our old payroll software i have not figured out yet, such as pay rate history.

Jeff
Operations Manager in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Check out your options

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall, our experience with Payworks has been pleasant. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, but the user interface leaves a bit to be desired.

Pros:

Payworks support has always been very responsive.

Cons:

Entering payroll is more complicated than some other providers available.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Affordable Payroll / HR / workforce Solution but don't expect much beyond that

2.0 9 months ago

Comments: Been using payworks for a long time, it is a simple tool for payroll, time off, vacation management and if you add the other components to it, it will still works but it's just not very fully integrated compare to ripping or other total HRIS / Payroll solutions on the market. Security would be a concern as it doesn't seem like the company or the product is fully innovative OR secure compare to a Deel OR Namely if you compare it to other competitors on the market. Looking at the history of the company, it's been around for a long time so it's not a startup and will probably not have new features release down the road.

Pros:

It's a fully integrated Payroll/HR / Workforce management tool for smb/corporate or book keepers or accountants. It also has other HRIS / or ATS add ons as well as it tries to be jack of all trades.

Cons:

I think Payroll should stick to being a Payroll process provider and beyond that the other add ons are like any other tool on the market like Bamboo OR Workable OR Rippling but it's not written the software in a very sophisticated way that you feel that they are an expert in other fields beyond just running payrolls.

Okan
Information Technology Services Administrator in Türkiye
Utilities, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient analysis acquisition tables.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like to have everything clearly in front of our eyes. I have been very successful in maintaining the income-expenditure balance.

Pros:

This tool has been very helpful in issuing a payment plan. It was very helpful for us to see everything clearly planned.

Cons:

Sometimes I have an integration problem, but it's not unsolvable, it's just tiring.

Abhishek
Web Developer in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Truly Canadian workforce tool

5.0 last year

Pros:

Very easy to use, robust and user friendly

Cons:

Still uses classic ASP as main framework

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PayWorks is easy to use and understand

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall, the experience has been super positive. As I referred to above, the platform is easy to use, navigate, and train our staff on which is very appreciated in our busy industry!

Pros:

We really like how easy data input is, as well as the user experience for our staff. Logging timesheets and requesting time off has never been easier!

Cons:

Everything is great on the platform! We haven’t had any issues

Adam
Financial Administrator in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A complete package

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Payworks is a great solution for managing payroll, time off, employee benefits, and HR paperwork. The program makes year end payroll paperwork simple.

Cons:

The benefit integration does not currently allow for termination mid month but my understanding is that this is due to be upgraded this month.

Ria
Constituency assistant in Canada
Political Organization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good app!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Pulling out tax forms, payroll history, etc. is so convenient. I think this app is wonderfully managed.

Pros:

Everything is setup so systemically in this app that it makes it really easy for an individual to use.

Cons:

There is nothing that I don't like about this software.

Tyler
Student in Canada
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall good software

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall good software to use, it was effective and efficient in delivering my pay and pay stubs.

Pros:

The software was very efficient and effective in what it needed to get done. I used it mainly to receive pay stubs, and it was always easy to keep track of them and download them.

Cons:

The user interface was a bit outdated and could use some improvement. Overall there is nothing wrong with the software from a functional perspective.

Eleana
Eleana
Student in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It works

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

All my pay checks and tax forms in one place

Cons:

Logs out frequently. Other than that, nothing to complain about.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It’s okay

3.0 last year

Pros:

Payworks is a fine program to use when the main purpose is payroll and great for a small company.

Cons:

Payworks is very finicky and does not offer a lot of features compared to other softwares out there.

Kathleen
Law Clerk in Canada
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

High regards

4.0 last year

Pros:

employee access to their own record keeping

Cons:

categories difficult to differentiate so uncertain where time is entered as a credit and where it is to be deducted from as used

Darryl
Owner in Canada
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

There are better options

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Ease of use. It was easy to use the product.

Cons:

They have settings that can really mess things up.

Chariz
Student in Canada
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Perfectly Easy for Product Use

5.0 last year

Comments: Very good, very simple, super easy. Except for the annoying time sheet button disappearing.

Pros:

I like how it has a simple interface and can be used to easily access my payroll with out the need to scan the entire website. Very simple.

Cons:

My time sheet and time off buttons keep switching and I can’t control it. Some days I need the time sheet but the feature disappears.

Veronica
Project manager in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple payroll solution

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good low cost option

Pros:

Payworks provides easy account set up for new employees

Cons:

An app and simpler user interface for employees would be preferred. Employees have to log in to the clunky website to access their records, an app or simpler interface would be better.

Zeh
Payroll Manager in Canada
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and easy platform to use

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

The platform is very straightforward. What you see is there. There are no hidden menus.

Cons:

It's a bit old fashion portal. Needs some guidance to find how to recall the reports.

Dillon
Account Manager in Canada
Insurance Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy Efficient Payroll

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy and efficient software. No fluff, just straightforward and simple.

Cons:

No complaints at this time, does what it is meant to do.

Carrie
Advertising Specialist in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool For Employees

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easily apply for time off, see pay stubs all in one place.

Cons:

It may be an administrative thing - but not having my vacation hours calculate in real time.

Vy
Installation Coordinator in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Our company use this for paystubs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: No real complain overall

Pros:

I like the clean interface. Very big numbers so you can't misread. Also option to hide numbers if you are not in private place

Cons:

Nothing so far. It shows what I need to see.