15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Anki

Online program that enables users to learn and remember things using flash cards.

Learn more about Anki

Pros:

Anki has a great community repository of language learning cards for many languages and fact intensive studies (biology etc).

Cons:

Anki can be very intimidating and not very user friendly. It definitely took a couple of online tutorials to fully adjust to this app.

Anki ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Anki has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Anki before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

Chad
Chad
Medical Student in Jamaica
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Flashcard Software

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The spaced repetition and active learning are amongst some of the best learning methods out there. Fortunately Anki applies both of these principles. The ability to share decks is also a plus.

Cons:

There is a steep learning curve when it comes to studying certain topics. Creating filtered decks is also a bit tricky. Some of the add ons also cause crashes. The IPhone app is also quite pricey whereas the android app is free.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Anki: a powerful tool for students

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Anki’s claim to fame would definitely be promotion of active learning and spaced repetition. One of the best features of Anki, is that it recognizes a user’s weaker topics and repeats various concepts until a marked improvement Is detected. The interface also has various plug ins and powerful tools to ensure that the user meets their goal.

Cons:

Anki can be very intimidating and not very user friendly. It definitely took a couple of online tutorials to fully adjust to this app. It was a bit overwhelming at first, but it would be very rewarding once you figure out its functions. Creating decks can be a bit tricky so I do advise starting off with a pre made deck.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not having attractive appearance but working well

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's cheap to try to set up your personalised sets of flashcards.

Pros:

It's free to have this application installed in laptop but you need to pay to use it on mobile then everything will be syn and easy to access your lessons anywhere.

Cons:

It's complicated to set up at first and the user interface looks so bad.

Carsyn
Technician in Saint Kitts and Nevis
Veterinary Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Anki helps keep my studying topics organized and is easy to use

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I liked the organization of decks most about Anki. As a student in professional school it is easy to lose track of information especially when using flash cards or handwritten materials. Anki helps a lot with keeping my classes organized by semester and making the decks easily accessible so that I can return and review them efficiently.

Cons:

I have no complaints. From making your own decks to sharing decks with others, Anki makes the process easy and user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A nice flashcard application

5.0 last year

Pros:

What I like about Anki is that it has a very straight forward and simple user interface. I'm not a fan of complex, overly modern-ish designs, and I love the old school-kind of vibe the interface is giving. Next is of course, its space repetition feature that allows the users to better learn and memorize any terms they need. Anki is definitely one of my lifesavers when it comes to my term-packed subjects and of course, language learning. Lastly is how users can share their created decks to each other, saving the time of people trying to create the same deck with the same content. This is especially helpful for people learning any languages, as there are already tons of Anki decks available that they can start learning, rather than making.

Cons:

Even though the user interface is alright to me, it definitely doesn't hurt to be improved for a little bit. It isn't very beginner friendly to me when I first started, and I think it can definitely be better.

Joshua
IT support and Video editor in Oman
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love - Hate

5.0 last year

Comments: This is great, though, and this is the hate, if you are not doing it everyday it piles up massively. There is no way to set it on "holiday mode" so if you take a break for a week from it there are piles of cards that you need to review again.But without this app I would have to be writing things down and Anki makes remembering it so much easier. This is definitely a must use for remembering vocabulary.

Pros:

Anki does such a great job of helping me to remember words from the language i am learning. It has great algorithms (that you can customise if you dare) that help you to remember the words you are having trouble by showing them to you more often while showing less the words you are remembering

Cons:

The settings are not super easy to understand. As sometimes you might try to stop new flash cards from displaying from one deck and then realise that deck was in a group and now they all have stopped so you need to work things like that out. its just not always straight forward.

Madden
Dental Student in US
Hospital & Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

#1 Tool Any Lifelong Learner can Utilize

5.0 last year

Comments: I have used Anki for countless large entrance exams and on a daily basis throughout my graduate studies. I am excited to see how AI will be integrated into Anki in the near future.

Pros:

Anki's open-source nature really allows each individual to customize everything they need it to be for each of their circumstances. I use countless add-ons that allow me to learn best as a dental student.

Cons:

Anki can be intimidating for first-time users, many classmates I work with use Quizlet as an alternative given that they just do not know how to get started with Anki.

Hallvard Enger
Hallvard Enger
Student in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Anki - A must have for learning effectively

5.0 last year

Comments: Learning facts like what is A, it is B, is great with Anki! For example learning a new language. My experience is that it is easy to use, understand, and if something seems difficult to do like adding a public deck, just google it!

Pros:

This tools lets the user download publicly available flashcard decks to learn certain subjects, languages etc. One can also create their own.I love how it gives the intervals for when your next revision of a flashcard will be, based on how hard you rate it.

Cons:

Not really anything I don't like. The only reason I don't use it for learning everything is lazyness and maybe due to not everything can be put into basic facts.

Beatriz
Fisioterapeuta in Brazil
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I like Anki for its ease of use

4.0 last year

Comments: I use it for more than three years, in the memorization of contents. I really like the results it provides.

Pros:

I like it because it is a system that helps in fixing content from various areas.

Cons:

The design of the application should be improved, seeking a more modern appearance.

William
William
Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Invaluable language learning tool

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software enables users to link to their Duolingo account and download vocabulary as it is learned. This is a huge help in completing my Duolingo Irish lessons.

Cons:

Some of it is a bit confusing to use, but that probably says more about me than the software.

Tim
Senior iOS Developer in Austria
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Spaced repetition software for semi-intensive/intensive language learning

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Anki has a great community repository of language learning cards for many languages and fact intensive studies (biology etc). These are often taken from syllabuses directly so you can often focus on learning vocabulary for a specific level (Such as A1 French/German/Spanish). With intensive effort from a student, Anki can help improve student learning by managing what cards students have difficulty on and inserting them into a learning session until a student stops struggling.

Cons:

Anki as a tool can be hard for a student to get into and thus might be a difficult process without dedication. Anki requires repetition every day or even a few times per day depending on the dedication of the learner. A casual learner may be better with a tool that focusses on gamification such as Duolingo

Ahmet Fatih
Ahmet Fatih
Director in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Learning made free

5.0 last year

Comments: Smooth and free of charge

Pros:

There are many competitors to Anki but it is free, open source and does almost as good as the paid opponents. I like the way it enables users to create, customize, and study digital flashcards. Spaced repetition algorithm works just fine and it can work as a standalone offline.

Cons:

Learning curve can be more difficult in terms of the User Interface. Mobile friendliness can be improved as well because pc version is much more talented.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Flashcard App out there!

5.0 last year

Pros:

It's multiplatform, has so many features for flashcard making(image, voice, plus custom feature with infinite plugins), review according to forgetting curve is really the best way to remember stuff, and the best of all, it's open source!

Cons:

Its UI looks a bit old, it can be improved to look more modern

Daniel
Daniel
Mechatronic Engineer Student in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best flash cards app

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I really like it onces i use it for sometime because at first it was kind hard to use it.

Pros:

I like the system that it use to show the cards at a specific time to make sure that you really learn the content. In addition the fact that it let you copy other users cards so that you don't have to make them is really good if you don't have the time or will to do some of your own. Also all the features and functions that you can use in your card let you overcome the traditional flash card and make some really complex

Cons:

One of the main reason i some times dont like to use this app is the overall look. For me is really plain and make it hard to star using it. Also the syncronization with other devices is kinda bad and slow.

Tony
Tech Support Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cute Memory Fresher

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very smal and cute to playing with. Powerful customized item design, content include text formated, pic, voice, video etc, multiple formated content together. Automatically arrange the flash cards for memory test. Interactive with the response from the test, and automatically consolidate the schedule for another test flash show.

Cons:

The test response is not very easy to feedback, current it only have options icons, not friendly for pulling or slash on the touch screen. Most setup GUI is text only, not very interesting and active for focus.

Philasande
Photographer in South Africa
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Anki review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

You can create decks very easily with this software.

Cons:

The design of the app is poor and doesn't convince people about the value they might get from using the software.

César
César
Computer engineer in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An indispensable tool for students

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In my opinion, it is a program that cannot be missing in the life of a student, it is very useful, and the extension system is incredible. A very well-thought-out program.

Pros:

It's the best flashcard program out there, the spaced repetition is great, the customization of the flashcards is wonderful. A great program.

Cons:

It seems to me that the interface does not attract attention and that is important because then you do not want to use the product, however, it is a program with very few weak points.

Marcel
Marcel
Electronic Engineer in Slovakia
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A new way of learning

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It automatically arranges flash cards. Design of cards can be costumized and information can be stored in differrent formats.

Cons:

There is needed a little bit of getting used to it. Not the most intuitive app. Otherwise it's a great tool.

Francisco
Francisco
research coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hard to use but handy

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: A very good technique for students but the app is not user-friendly and tricks are not easy to learn. You definitely need to see tutorials

Pros:

This system really helps you memorize while studying. It really works and I recommend this technique to students, however, the app is not easy to use. There are some tricks to really make it work and the UI does not help in doing so

Cons:

It is hard to use. You need to see tutorials to make it work as it should

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Relations & Communications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lo consiglio a tutti dai tempi del liceo!

5.0 last year

Comments: top, davvero top, tutti quelli a cui l'ho consigliata hanno utilizzato e apprezzato

Pros:

è l'unico software che fa bene quello che un app di questo tipo fa. Semplice, intuitivo. L'algoritmo che fa sì che tutto venga appreso con questo software è da 1000/10! Davvero insostituibile, la uso per questioni personali, l'ho usata all'università per dare alcuni esami, prima ancora alle scuole superiori e ora anche per questioni lavorative o di produttività! sinceramente la userei anche se fosse a pagamento per cifre piuttosto alte, data la sua utilità

Cons:

bah, io la trovo assolutamente utile così com'è. se volessimo cercare il "pelo nell'uovo" forse graficamente non è il top del top, ma questo lo dico con formazione da grafica quindi è davvero un po' cercare il negativo nel dettaglio. per quanto mi interessa funziona bene.

Daniele
Program Manager in Italy
Internet, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Base, ma fa il suo lavoro molto bene.

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Ha aiutato nell'apprendimento di terminologia, in lingue diverse, di alcuni processi di business che usiamo abitualmente.

Pros:

Il metodo di ripetizione mnemonica è ottimo ad esempio per espandere il proprio lessico quando si impara una lingua (è quello per cui lo uso). E' possibile creare flashcard in pochissimi secondi, creare diversi mazzi ed estendere la durata della sessione in pochi clic.

Cons:

Un'ottima feature da aggiungere sarebbe anche una funzione 'reverse', ovvero 'invertire' i due lati del mazzo. Questo farebbe sì che l'apprendimento diventasse meno mnemonico e ripetitivo, ma più impegnativo. Anche 'marcare' certe carte insieme (ad esempio in sottocategorie) sarebbe una ottima feature perché permetterebbe di affrontare insieme carte potenzialmente facili da confondere.

erica
Studente in France
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MUST-HAVE per lo studio

5.0 last year

Comments: Sono molto soddisfatta, mi ha rivoluzionato il metodo di studio quando ancora non ne avevo uno.

Pros:

Anki è unica nel suo genere; è usata da molti studenti di università internazionali ad alti livelli (e.g. Cambridge) non solo per aiutare a passare l'esame, ma anche per costruire una memoria più solida nel tempo. Grazie al suo algoritmo per i giorni di ripetizione (secondo la teoria della "learning timeline"), rende possibile lo storage di un'informazione nella memoria a lungo termine. Così, assicura un apprendimento solido e non solamente finalizzato a diminuire lo stress da performance.

Cons:

Su computer è un po' difficile da usare e può richiedere molto tempo per creare le flashcards.

daniele
STUDENTE in Italy
Medical Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Anki per l'apprendimento puro

5.0 last year

Pros:

Ciò che apprezzo di più di anki è la possibilità di fare autoapprendimento. Il mio metodo di studio grazie a quest'app è migliorato tantissimo. All'inizio non riuscivo a trovare nessuna app che mi offrisse una tale possibilità, ma da quando ho conosciuto anki la mia vita è completamente cambiata. Infatti, per me che utilizzo il richiamo attivo con la ripetizone spaziata nel tempo, anki è veramente perfetta

Cons:

Aggiungerei dei video, ovvero delle guide per far comprendere meglio l'utilizzo di alcuni aspetti di anki che vanno oltre quelli più semplici come la creazione di mazzi

Lavínia
Médica in Brazil
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avaliação do Anki de uma estudante.

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Eu amo o anki e me ajuda no meu dia a dia com estudos.

Pros:

Possibilidade de fazer revisões de maneira rápida e fácil.

Cons:

A estética do Anki é antiga, e deixa a plataforma menos atraente.