SAP Business One Reviews

4.2 (204) Write a Review!

About SAP Business One

Increase control over your small or midsize business with SAP Business one - a software designed to grow with you.

Learn more about SAP Business One

Pros:

Possibility to make your own addons to customize the ERP program. Drill down arrow buttons are very user friendly.

Cons:

Hard to be an expert, takes one year to kkow almost everything in just one module.

SAP Business One ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SAP Business One has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 204 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SAP Business One before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (204)

Marco
Marco
IT Administrator in Ecuador
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Good Tool To Do What is Required

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

It manages and regulates various functions, including accounting, inventory, purchasing, sales, providing invaluable assistance to the sales department as it helps to control the sales process from orders to control customer visits, also allows you to keep track of expenses, quite nice to use as it offers many opportunities.

Cons:

To use its full potential it lacks flexibility to choose the modules or functions you want or need, any information needed must be entered manually without being able to automate it.

Amila
Senior Accountant in Sri Lanka
Accounting Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very much suitable for small and medium sized enterprises

4.0 last month New

Comments: Streamlined all the processes and gained the fully accountability of each and every transaction. Real time process monitoring and ability to get valuable managerial reports.

Pros:

*Can be easily implemented *Real time alerting *Very much transparent and accountable *Business streamlined very much

Cons:

*Somewhat complex on UI *Have to find a payroll system as that was not included

Verified Reviewer
Coordinador de tesorería in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall my experience has been good but I would expect much more from this software

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I usually use the bank management module is very friendly when creating seats and visualize movements in bank, to register suppliers or customers is great because it links the information of the RIF directly with the seniat platform so there is no error at the time of creating a new client, what I like about the system is that it is not integrated like others that have an administrative system and another accounting system that has it all in one single and at the moment of making a record they can be visualized in the reports .

Cons:

What I liked the least about this software is that it does not have the necessary support by the company that implements the system, they do not have timely answers to some questions which makes it difficult to work, on the other hand when creating seats if There was an error in the project if you let the change, however, the same thing does not happen with the distribution rule. I feel that it should not happen because it does not cause more impact, as it would be to modify the amount and / or the date of the seat.

allen
AP analyst in Philippines
Wholesale, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Accounting System that is easy to navigate

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very Much Excellent

Pros:

it is actually easy to navigate and actually do its purpose that makes your work finish much faster

Cons:

When you log too many date, or your using it for a long time it sometimes lag a bit. but IT probably can resolve that.

Sreeja
Sreeja
Business Development in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SAP BusinessOne ERP Capabilities

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Me and My team will understand the client company IT Landscape, Workloads and then implement the SAP B1 and integrate with HR solutions, internal software. Easily used by anyone and waste fast response rate

Pros:

Its the most cheaper among SAP ERP family and can be used Small and Midsize companies easily

Cons:

It doesn't have an inbulit HR Module among core modules

Ahmad
System Administrator in Jordan
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple ERP with high potential for customization

4.0 last month New

Comments: need too much customization and development efforts, you will take a very fit ERP.

Pros:

Ability to customization pages, transactions,s and workflow.

Cons:

Marketing campaign management and Mobile sales.

Richard
Senior Analyst in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CPQ2023 Sap

5.0 last month New

Comments: Awesome tool which saves me time and the company money.

Pros:

Ease of downloading costs of products for use in other applications..

Cons:

Some features allow cost to go to $0 when obsoleted.

Tim
Compliance & HR Manager in UK
Business Supplies & Equipment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SAP Business One

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very disappointing. I have used multiple MRP/ERP products over the years and have been responsible for the implementation of 4 systems in previous roles. I have never come across a product quite so clunky as SAP B1. It's typical of a product that was built in a different era but has only been tweaked to bring it up to date - when what is really needed is to scrap it and rebuild from the ground up. Modern ERP systems require minimal implemention and training because they are so intuitive - SAP is overpoweringly bewildering.

Pros:

it's very powerful and versatile for use in almost any organisation. The ability to modify for your own use is almost limitless if you are prepared to invest a lot of money over time

Cons:

It's user experience which is very poor due to cluttered interface, lack of intuitive design and snail-pace speed. We have spent £100's of thousands on SAP over the past 3 years - and we are not significantly more efficient because of it.

Rami
Rami
Internal Auditor in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Great fully integrated Enterprise Resource Planning System

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am totally happy with this software because it's customizable to fit our business processes.

Pros:

I am a huge fan of SAP Business One, As a Internal Auditor what I need first is all reports and transactions has been made to check and make sure the business is on track and SAP Business One helped me a lot with reporting feature. And how this software amazingly is fully integrated, When the accountant create a new customer name or add a new item the customer or item appears in all modules, And the feature of Non-Duplicate data which secure master-data from any duplicated entry.

Cons:

SAP Business One is working just great with our business and I didn't face and issue or weak point when I'm using it.

Don
President in US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

12 year SAP Business One veteran

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

SAP pours a lot of R&D into this product. I have worked with it for 12 years - as an implementation consultant. Its capabilities, performance and reliability has changed dramatically during this period. Technologically, it is head and shoulders above the crowd. The capability to tailor the product and features to meet a customer's requirements is outstanding. The ERP functionality is complete - from accounting to service functions, to distribution and manufacturing functions. It comes with mobile apps available as part of the system. Dashboards are included with the system. Functions such as email alerts, approvals and workflows are embedded in the product. I also develop add-ons for SAP Business One. The software development kit (SDK) provided by SAP makes 'add-on' functionality 100% transparent to the user - they don't know which screens or popups are SAP's and which are the add-ons. And there are hundreds of programmers available to produce add-ons.

Cons:

SAP Business is complex to install. It takes a staff of people with up to date IT experience to perform the install. It's not a long process (8 - 10 hours), just complex.

smit
Owner in India
Accounting Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

One of the best business ERP solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall very good ERP solution, it is also to be noted that 90% of fortune 500 companies uses SAP for their all business solutions.

Pros:

SAP AG is Germany based company who has developed business integrated ERP software which cater all your business requirement. 1. SAP has different modules within the software like material management, sales and Distribution, fixed asset etc which very well integrates with each other and helps to provide in depth solution for all business requirement. 2. SAP has ability to maintain complete audit trail, which helps the business user to fix the accountability of each user. 3. Data analysis is the one of the best feature that ultimately helps the business to take effective decisions. 4. User security, user authorization system is also added advantage which helps in managing authorized access to any system data.

Cons:

1. SAP is mainly suitable for large enterprises having employees strength more that 300-400, and where all roles and responsibility of the uses is clearly identified. 2. Its implementation cost and maintenance cost is high and sufficient training is also required to be given to all concerned users. 3. it is essential to have separate team who can help the user to solve all the issues related to SAP or some agency needs to be hired for such problems, which ultimately increases the cost of company. 4. Unless the roles and responsibility are not clearly identified there is no much benefit of the so called ERP solution. 5. In nutshell unless the company has good employee size and business then only SAP is suitable.

Rom Rulida
Rom Rulida
Marketing Funnel Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use with almost complete functionality

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy-to-use ERP System with not-so-complicated functionalities.

Pros:

SAP Business One is an ERP System that is designed for Small and Medium Entities. With a highly interactive Graphical User Interface (GUI), it allows users to easily navigate the system within a few minutes of using it. Another good feature of SAP Business One is how it divided the different business functions by modules which allow a point-and-click capability to users. Unlike its more complex counterpart, SAP All-in-One, SAP Business One removed the need to use T-codes which is a huge advantage for users who are not particular in memorizing hundreds of codes to process transactions. With that in mind, SAP Business One still covers almost all of the fundamental business process of entities along with the capability to be customized using Table and Fields Management Queries.

Cons:

Considering that it is an ERP Software, the adaption of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles is not fully maximized. Users that are particular in accounting might notice that some of the journal entries are not in accordance with the applicable standard in their country. This is due to the fact that there's only a limited option when it comes to the Chart of Account to be used as well as the customization of accounts.

Maddie
Maddie
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An easy to use, small ERP for most enterprises

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Everything in one convenient location. It is not difficult to find items if you have a clear idea of what you are looking for. Strong controls throughout the organization. The management and running of the business, the variety of services it provides, and its compatibility with other software all come into play here.

Pros:

SAP Business One is a very comprehensive piece of management software. It integrates everything in real time, from customer relationship management to after-sales care, as well as accounting and project management. The potential for B.I. on board are also quite fascinating to consider. A sturdy and dependable instrument.

Cons:

It is possible for there to be an excessive amount of complexity; locating a particular report or document may require a number of steps, and the level of detail may be excessive for straightforward reporting.

Jaquelene
Bookkeeper in South Africa
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage One - The BEST Accounting Software to go with

5.0 last year

Comments: I enjoy working with this software, it is very easy to use, and very easy to learn.

Pros:

The feature i like the most is the bank feeds. You can link your bank with SAGE, and the bank transactions will refresh on a daily basis, leaving you only to allocate the transactions and sparing you time to manual process the bank! But that is not all....you can map the transactions to the correct accounts, which leaves you only to review the transactions and balance the bank! Pretty easy right?!

Cons:

There is absolutely nothing I do not like about this program

Anita
Consultant in US
Logistics & Supply Chain
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Integrated Supply Chain to Omni-Channel Sales ERP

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Wholesale trade companies need a global product to expand operations with minimal in-house costs. SAP's continued investment in the Business One ERP product extends functionality across 60+ countries, developing a best of breed product for companies of many sizes. SAP Business One is designed to be affordable for both small companies and global subsidiaries who need real-time visibility across sourcing, manufacturing and distribution locations. The way the system handles lite production (especially kitting), connects Sales Orders to relevant Purchase Orders, facilitates dynamic Demand Planning and manages multiple warehouses simultaneously; it is the most affordable concept-to-cash solution of its class. Integration to industry specific apps and company websites maximize the usability and adaptation of the system. Allowing for a complex software package to be just the right fit; not too complex, not too large (or small!) and not too expensive.

Cons:

If you like cloud applications with simple URL logins, this couldn't be any further from that. Business One ERP is a traditional software installation product which has been proven in a hosted environment however, its best installed on the company's onsite server. Remote desktop allows for off-site users to access the system but again, it's not your easy-peasy SaaS experience.

William
IT Admin in El Salvador
Chemicals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Driving important changes in your company with SAP B1

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: SAP B1 has been able to give a significant boost to operations within the company. Practically going from basic controls to more complete controls, visualizations and traceability of operations is something that is basic that every company should have. But it is key that the company is clear about its internal processes and where it wants to go.

Pros:

SAP B1 allows companies to make an evaluation of each of the processes and to improve them in the best way. SAP B1 can become a great ally of the company for the control and management of the processes.

Cons:

It is important to note that what an ERP software cannot do or does not adapt to the company's model does not mean that it is not good. For this reason, it is important that companies that decide to implement SAP B1 do a prior process analysis to know how the company is doing and compare it against SAP B1 and in this way the best decision can be made about which ERP to implement.

Verified Reviewer
VP of Innovation in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid mid tier ERP, with solid ecosystem, but likely needs add-ons or heavy customisation

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a hand on, technical lead / developer SAP B1 can be moulded to you needs and generally functions well. It has a good community and SAP seems to be investing in the platform for the long term.

Pros:

Well featured and good fit for most businesses, even manufacturers. Has good functionality of the box. Good ecosystem and a wide variety of add ons and extensions. SAP is improving it integration capabilities and tools finally as well. Can work well cloud or on prem. Generally usable and appreciated by users. Good online support network of users, experts and partners.

Cons:

SAP has its own way of doing things. This product was a acquired by SAP and has slowly been absorbing / adopting more of the SAP culture and ways of working. Can be expensive to do simple things, and additional licensing can ad up. Partner model can let it down. Partners need to be well vetted as bad projects and consultants can hold you back. Software can be slow if badly customised, processes are poor or data model is wrong.

Verified Reviewer
DevOps in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best RP in the market

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I was the Admin that set up this software in a small business (up to 50 persons) and I don't have any issues with the software, I program some modules apart and connected it to SAP BO without problems

Pros:

This is an easy to use ERP, cheap and designed accordingly to small business (10 - 100 peoples) without any problems, Is a low-cost efficient software.

Cons:

It is a little bit difficult to understand it at the beginning, but when you familiarize yourself with the System all is good with it. Has a few issues with the 10.0 Desktop version

eNoah Response

3 years ago

Great. Thanks for the positive feedback.

Mehool
Mehool
Senior consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SAP BUSINESS ONE

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: it was good , our day to day financial and procurement activities were able to managed and reporting was made easier

Pros:

Sap business one gives vast range of options , benefits and operations for low cost and for Small/medium enterprises , so that they can automise and digitise their business or moved up from other sources such as Tally etc

Cons:

the Fact there are lot of different licenses for Business one which restricts the features you want to use it or apply to your system

Victoria
Admin in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Wonderful Upgrade in Performance

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer service team has been responsive and timely in fixing most of our issues. They do charge for things that one would think would come as part of the set up package, such as working out kinks after go-live.

Pros:

We switched from Quickbooks to this system. It is easier to track documents, provides more legitimacy (nothing can be deleted, thus bookkeeping is far more reliable), and allows tracking of changes of documents by user so I can easily look at a document and see every person who has made changes and what they were.

Cons:

Searching for business partners (customers, vendors) is not as fluid as I'd like. You have to go into a couple different screens to see a full list or do a search but nothing is immediately visible. When saving documents (invoices, sales orders, etc) if two people are creating at the same time there is no warning as to who gets the document number, so you have to double check your number after saving; it is inconvenient.

Verified Reviewer
Distribution Center Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best for Small Business

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Middle of the road. It is much better than QuickBooks and others of that ilk. It can work well if you don't have 500 SKU's and a lot of production and order volume. You can make it work but it really needs outside help to get the most out of it.

Pros:

It has some of the functionality of the higher level SAP offerings. It is excellent at a smaller transactional quantity. In other words, if you have a single order for $100,000 as opposed to ten orders for $10,000 it works really well. Many of the ancillary processes and features are very limited in the program itself and for any real "power" you need to purchase bolt on systems to really get the best use. Some examples are Warehouse management, production management.

Cons:

It is difficult to write reports. Many functions that would streamline use for mid size companies, particularly in the warehousing, shipping and manufacturing worlds require bolt on systems.

Ryan
Staff Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very powerful ERM

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am satisfied with SAP and I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros:

SAP is an incredibly powerful ERM tool. We use it to manage all aspects of the business from the beginning creating quotes all the way thru to paying our bills, invoicing the customers, and receiving incoming payments. We also use it to create our financial statements and manage our assets. SAP also has the ability to track and manage inventory though this is a function we do not use as we do not have inventory. Lastly, it can also be used to create your own queries allowing you to slice and dice your data any way you see fit. Of course, you can always export this to excel and do as you see fit with the data there.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve with SAP. Some of its functions are not very intuitive. Also, the interface could be a little more appealing.

Petr
Petr
economist in Czechia
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

stable and functional economic system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am an economist at the company, so I am completely dependent on SAP, from the point of view of accounting, we have never had a problem, only the warehouse management had to be fine-tuned according to the relevant legislation. The vast majority of company managers are satisfied with reports and management reports.

Pros:

The program has a good price-performance ratio compared to local programs. It is used all over the world, so I do not have a problem with certain implementations with foreign suppliers. Thanks to strong product support, it is possible to adapt the program to local conditions and requirements within one country.

Cons:

I lack a more distinctive user interface, but SAPU programmers are able to customize them for you. More investment in hardware is needed.

Verified Reviewer
Manager in Belgium
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Expandable ERP application for growing SMEs

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We now have a centralised platform where all resources are streamlined in our organisation: logistics, accounting, service, ...

Pros:

- Possibility to make your own addons to customize the ERP program. - Drill down arrow buttons are very user friendly

Cons:

- Steep learning curve, difficult to implement this is a very small SME - support via local partner is not always fast

John
Controller in US
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Can do almost anything, but it's not easy (or cheap) to learn or set up

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have used SAP in two previous jobs. I love what it can do, but a common issue I have seen are companies wanting what it offers, but balking at the cost to implement and/or maintain. A poor implementation can be a disaster - make sure the "experts" you rely on have a good track record. Also, lack of training and/or in-house experts (post implementation) can result in poor use of the system, excessively complicated processes, and offline processes (thus defeating much of the real value of the system).

Pros:

Very powerful software, very reliable, very good documentation, good training courses available, and an extensive user group (very helpful to get involved with)

Cons:

Not easy to just sit down and figure it out, training can be very expensive, implementation and on going in-house support are critical and can also be very expensive