Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About SendGrid

Twilio SendGrid is the leading cloud-based email delivery platform, trusted by over 80,000 of the world's fastest-growing brands.

Learn more about SendGrid

Showing 496 reviews

Vishal J.
Vishal J.
Technical Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-08-09

"SendGrid - Best Email API for sending marketing emails"

Comments: I use SendGrid for sending communication and marketing emails to thousands of customers every day. Sending close to 100,000 emails per month and the quality of service is quite good. Must say I am happy to use SendGrid.

Pros: The best thing about using the SendGrid Email API was the performance measured in terms of email deliverability and server uptime. The dashboard provides good insights with respect to number of emails sent, delivered and opened. Thus helps a great deal in improving marketing campaigns. From the deployment point of view, the integration of SendGrid with the existing email service was quite easy and can be completed easily without great efforts.

Cons: As far as technical aspects are concerned, there is nothing which I don't like. On the pricing front, would like to add my views. Currently, the pricing plans are available as Free (100 emails per day), Essentials and Pro. The Essentials plan starts from 14.95$ per month for upto 40,000 emails a month and the Pro starts at 89.95$ per month. These plans are good for small and medium size websites. Would be good to see if a new Basic plan is introduced for a low starting price of 4.95$ per month and offering upto 10,000 emails a month. Such a plan would be highly suitable for extra small website applications who have a limited customer base.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-08-09
Verified Reviewer
Managing Partner
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-16

"SendGrid Review"

Comments: It is fine--we continue to use it and at the end of the day the emails get delivered. It is just not super practical or intuitive. To get the full benefits I had to get a professional guy who knows HTML to help me to design and send the emails (and I am very savvy with technology).

Pros: This software has better features than competitors and email campaigns seem to reach out to more people. the templates provided are useful.

Cons: The Challenge with this app is that every little improvement that you want to make to your process is going to cost you more money. So although it starts being cheaper than competitors, by the time you add the reporting, stats, more emails you end up paying the same or more. Unless you pay extra you will not see the results of your email campaign, that is a big con, and you don't realize this until you have imported thousands of people and have invested a lot of hours creating your lists. Since you get a lot of free features when you first sign-in "as a trial period" by the time they remove them you are all in!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-16
Jordan R.
Jordan R.
Co-Founder
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-23

"Sendgrid is great"

Comments: Was great for sending transactional, automated emails. API integration with my app was a breeze.

Pros: Love the UI, the simplicity of the setup, the training / onboarding videos, and the ease-of-use. It's a great tool. Also, the visual template builder is great.

Cons: I ended up switching to Mailgun just to test things out - and honestly, they're both pretty amazing, but I stuck with Mailgun because (at least at the time I switched) they had a more generous "free" plan. Sendgrid is great though!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-23
David R.
Site Reliability Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-30

"Great email service for offloading website form emails from web hosting services"

Comments: SendGrid is a great solution if sending emails from your website is critical to your business. It gives you the functionality to inspect and see what emails are being sent and to secure your emails using various security standards (ie. SPF, DKIM, etc).

Pros: Often web hosts have email limits for websites and your contact forms or orders from your site can be shut off without warning. Using SendGrid means you can control your email services from your website and see what emails are being sent and whether they are being delivered. The SendGrid console allows you to view what emails are bouncing and which aren't being delivered (ie. fake email addresses), etc. Also SendGrid support is really great as well and will assist with how to go about securing your email using Domain Keys Identified Mail (DKIM) (or their similarly named solution of this).

Cons: With you could inspect the email bodies within the SendGrid console. Unfortunately you can only search on the email subject, dates, etc, but not the email bodies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-30
Jeffrey F.
Jeffrey F.
CEO / President - Founder
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-30

"Super outgoing email platform"

Comments: Love this software, and just upgraded to a paying using from the freemium <3

Pros: Super easy to implement through their API. Use it extensively in our day-to-day notificatons.

Cons: Not much that we do not like about this software. The editing feature might be a little more user friendly, but once you get your first template right, it is easy to cut an paste.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-30
Verified Reviewer
chief software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-29

"SendGrid is a reliable email platform."

Comments: I have been using SendGrid for the last two years. It is very easy to use. You can design your mail or edit the SendGrid templates. Also there is a code editor. So you can make changes in the code. So you can change the style or make it responsive by writing media query. So you don't have to be bothered about the design issues in sending a mail. Also marketing mails can be send to list of users just by a button click. There are many features which helps you in email marketing and automated email delivery. Thank you team for this wonderful product.

Pros: SendGrid is the best email delivery platform I have ever used. I am a developer and to send automated mails from website was a major concern for me. But using SendGrid I can easily send mail. APIs is easily available and you can design your mail just by some drag and drop. Also there are many templates available in SendGrid. You can just edit the templates and add your images just by uploading to SendGrid photo gallery. Transactional mail templates can be created by desin or code. This is the main attractive part in SendGrid. Also you can upload your users base and send mail to multiple users just by a button click. So SendGrid can be easily used for marketing purpose. So I will say, this is a best option for email delivery service.

Cons: Even if SendGrid is easy, for a beginner it is a little confusing. Because you will not know where to design your template in transactional or legacy . But once you are familiar with it, SendGrid is the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-29
Verified Reviewer
Director of Technology
Religious Institutions, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-28

"Easy Email Relay Service"

Pros: I know SendGrid has a lot more to offer than I actually use. I have it linked up with a database program and use it as a relay service for sending emails. It has been a solid service. There have been a few times I've had to get in touch with customer service for some help, and they were responsive and helpful.

Cons: Being on the lowest tier, we end up sharing an IP with who knows who else, so our messages are sometimes flagged as spam and bounce because of their IP source. The price jump to the next level which would give us a dedicated IP is hard to justify - several times the price for what I'm guessing would be going from a 99.5% success rate to what would probably be about 99.9%.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-28
Martin E.
Senior Programmer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-12

"SendGrid solved our email problems"

Comments: I've been using SendGrid for years, and recently carried out an update to a CMS system to start sending mail through it. It solved a bunch of email issues that the company in question has been facing for years.

Pros: SendGrid takes the headache out of email. No longer do I waste my days trying to work out why outgoing emails are failing, or being reported as spam. I can monitor all outgoing email, generate reports, and spend my day doing useful things instead!

Cons: Some of the useful services are paid extras, but that's business, right?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-12
Colin W.
Director of Operations
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-07

"Awesome software for our company."

Comments: Great software for any company that send a lot of emails to clients. Automation is key!

Pros: Sendgrid manages and distributes all of our email notifications to the clients. We normally send about 10,000 + a day and this program lets us monitor who's received it and who's spammed or bouncing them back.

Cons: The layout is hard to navigate if you're logging in for the first time. It does get easier. I wish there was more criteria to search for. Error message reasons do not make sense sometimes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-07
Verified Reviewer
Business development
Publishing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020-07-09

"Boss in email marketing"

Comments: Sendgrid is very good tool for email automation.
Were we can create the templete for email and all to gather we can send 10000 emails in one shot. So its consuming very less time and having multiple functions. I loved it and I want to recommend to all the people who are looking for email marketing tools

Pros: Sendgrid is very efficient and easy tool for email marketing, as I have been using it from last one year, I feel worth of money, how easy it's for mass mailing and doing the followup with customers and getting the stastics who has open the email and who has gone through the hyper link given in template. I would like to recommend all who ever is looking for email marketing tools

Cons: The least I liked about sendgrid is creating template for every email separately, even though it's manageble.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020-07-09
Garret T.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-07-09

"Worst Customer Support (even for Pro Users)"

Comments: Overall I would say I'm extremely disappointed with the customer support with SendGrid, especially as a paid Pro user. We have sent over 2M emails and an AI tool flagged our account which was then immediately shut-down without any contact from SendGrid to get more information or validate why it was shut-down. After multiple hours calling thru phone banks I was able to get someone live who couldn't help me at all and said they would reach out to compliance and call-back within 30 minutes. It has been over 8 hours and I have reached out several more times with no follow-up or resolution to our account.

Pros: integration process with our product was fairly straight forward and on-going maintenance is low cost.

Cons: as a customer for more than 7 years I have been satisfied with the service. The platform, per the conversation with the customer support team, has seen a large rise in fraud and has begun banning clients regularly even when compliance hasn't completed a diligence process. This has resulted in a large amount of "false positive" cases. When they ban your account, there is no notification. It just says you aren't authorized to access your account. Even if you are paying for Pro support you have no ability to access your account to call support. You have to submit a ticket and then wait 24 hours+ to get a call back.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-07-09
Elisa P.
Marketing Assistant
Packaging & Containers, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-14

"Good and convenient with a high rate of delivered emails!"

Comments: Sendgrid is functional, reliable and convenient. I previously used MailChimp but it has become too expensive so I started using Sendgrid and I am looking at its improvements every day. It must be improved, but it is a good tool.

Pros: Useful email marketing tool to send marketing emails and analyze their results. You can easily set up a campaign using the email templates available on the platform or creating your custom ones. The email editor offers two option: design and code. The design editor allows creating custom layouts by dragging and dropping the modules available on Sendgrid, whilst the code editor offers the opportunity to personalize your templates writing your html code. The A/B testing function offers the possibility to test different titles, copy and images to check the most performing ones. Test email and schedule features available. Report and insights accurate and detailed. You can check different views according to different devices in real time. On the left side of the main page, you can constantly check your reputation according to the email you’ve sent and the percentage of bounced emails and the ones marked as spam. It is really convenient.

Cons: By switching from design editor to code editor and back again, at any variation you will lose all your previous work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-14
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-04

"A one-stop shop."

Pros: I love the ease of configuration when integrating SendGrid with our in-house or 3rd party applications. In addition to that, SendGrid has proper Feedback loops set up, which allows us to scale our operations accordingly.

Cons: It can be difficult to really get the answers you need when you need them with send grid because their UI has so a lot of options within it and the Marketing Campaigns UI is not the best, in comparison to other ESPs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-04
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Insurance Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-25

"SendGrid gets emails delivered to the inbox!"

Comments: A good experience and we will continue to use, must easier to setup than other competitors.

Pros: SendGrid is a great solution for sending emails that must arrive in the users inbox. We use SendGrid

Cons: Abuse and Spam reports were a little confusing to begin with but we found a solution to that to keep our email lists clean and delivery rates high.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-25
Shikhil S.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-12

"Amazing product! Delivers emails right in the inbox"

Comments: - Email sending
- Reliable delivery of emails
- Spam rate score calculations
- Automation of campaigns
- Integrations with other tools

Pros: We use SendGrid integrated with Mautic to send emails and email campaigns. We started to use SendGrid after MailChimp stopped it's free plan. We've been satisfied with the solution and the delivery rate offered is amazing. You get 12k free emails which is sufficient to start with. The APIs are easy to use and available for almost every task.

Cons: The dashboard UI could be better. Sometimes the color is so light that it is just difficult to read the back-end. But that's about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-12
Nalu M.
Nalu M.
Director Of Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-27

"Easy to use from a Customer Support perspective"

Pros: Very easy to use and navigate. Many of our Customer Support Representatives have access to Sendgrid due to the ease of use. Sendgrid provides a lot of data that is helpful when investigating an issue related to email marketing.

Cons: There are some aspects of the service that you would assume should be included in your subscription, but you are required to pay for them (a-la-carte style) if you want to use them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-27
Raghuvar P.
Raghuvar P.
Data Scientist
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-03

"Want to send Promotional Emails? for me Sendgrid is the best solution.."

Pros: - The best thing I like about Sendgrid is Transactional Emails, I have sent plenty of promotional emails for my product.
- Template feature helps me a lot
- Very very easy to use and manage
- In the Dashboard, we can see the analytics of the mails sent. Analytics as in, Total requests, spams, how many emails are opened, and plenty more. This helps me to analyze and change our stratergy accordinlgy.
- High-grade deliverability, scalability, and reliability

Cons: - Documentation is poor, lots of issues on GitHub repo.
- Little expensive as compared to other competitors
- Customer support is not good, I had a technical issue and I mailed them regarding the issue. I got the reply but very late.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-03
Chris M.
Lead Desk Technician
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-07

"Application that allows for the tracking of emails, sent at minute and large overview."

Pros: Application that allows for the tracking of emails, sent at minute and large overview. You can see where emails were sent from your domain to specific domains, or even from a sub-domain.

Cons: The biggest concern is that email content is not tracked through SendGrid, and while not a huge issue when dealing with the large scope, this feature could increase its positivity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-07
Angélica C.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-12

"So easy and so affordable"

Pros: SendGrid makes it easy to have emails delivered right to my user's inbox. There are already a ton of integrations available. The API itself is really easy to use.
I haven't gone a day without using it since I signed up.

Cons: Every time you change plans, you need to explain the upgrade. I know it's a security measure to avoid spammers, but it could take a little less longer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-12
Verified Reviewer
chief software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-05

"SendGrid is the best email delivery service"

Comments: SendGrid helps lot when I have to send mails in bulk. And also when sending email from website it is very easy and reliable.

Pros: Mails are very easy to customize. There are many sendgrid templates available. So email campaigns can be generated easily. Email can be designed using drag and drop buttons, menus etc..Also sendgrid API is easy to use and example codes and tutorials makes it easy to send emails to users from website. And also emails to a list of users can be send just by few seconds. And the delivery details can be viewed from your sendgrid panel.

Cons: Dashboard UI could be better. It is little difficult to first get started and to be familiar with. But once you start sending emails it become easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-05
Shuhan B.
Chief Product Officer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-26

"Unacceptable random errors for a utility product"

Pros: Generally set and forget for the years that we've used them, but reliability has been a major problem recently -- see cons.

Cons: Ever since last September, we've had about a 1% error rate with Sendgrid due to random 406 errors. Based on what we've seen on the internet, we're not the only ones. As a utility integration that the rest of our software depends on, this is wholly unacceptable. Imagine your product, and imagine that 1% of emails your product sends just randomly fail. Sadly, their support has no drive to actually solve the problem. We've been back and forth with their support for months now with no resolution. The last three interactions are about them asking about a different key in our request, one key at a time. This is the interaction after "escalation". At this point, we might get through describing a single API request by the end of the year. Strongly recommend to just go with any other vendor that actually works. As a utility play, there is no way you can afford to spend time worrying about whether your email provider is reliable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-26
Michael B.
Michael B.
Senior Technical Support Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-13

"Delegate your emails"

Comments: Easy overview of the email log, great way to manage bounced and rejected email addresses

Pros: Sendgrid has all the tools to make sure that your email reputation remains high by handling bounced and rejected emails properly

Cons: It's quite a handful to understand all of the tools. A great help center gets you started quickly though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-13
Will E.
Will E.
Head of IT Operations & Support
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-21

"A really good email relay service"

Pros: An easy way of delivering mail through a reputable, tracked cloud relay service. The ability to have multiple sub users with different quotas set for each. The pricing is really competitive.

Cons: The response on customer tickets hasn't been as fast as I'd expect, some tickets took days to get a response.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-21
Angelica C.
Angelica C.
Blogger
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-23

"The best there is"

Comments: I use it in my server to send all transactional mail, on my blogs. I have it all setup so I don't keep sending emails to people who have bounced.

Pros: It integrates with everything, it has the best pricing tier, it's easy to use. Perfection.

Cons: I think this is the only web service I use that I don't have any complaints about.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-23
Mike G.
Product Director
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-31

"A Cheaper Alternative For Programmatic Emailing"

Pros: We use SendGrid instead of Pardot for emails that we generate in our platforms and then send out. In that regard, SendGrid is reliable.

Cons: Not a good platform if you're creating campaigns directly on the site. Also, they charge a lot of money if you want any sort of support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-31